Growing Pains

Do you feel that?

That feeling of being out of place? The uneasiness. Like the winds of change are a comin’ and instead of the gentle breezes we’re used to, they’re coming in hurricane strength gusts; bringing with them so much unwelcome tension. It’s an unfamiliar lack of control that leaves me with a sour mood that is palpable in almost every aspect of my life.

I can’t take any more of it. I also can’t take any less of it. For myself, to ignore seems ignorant.

But what can I do? I can call, email, and write to my representatives. Ok… done. But this type of change takes time. Months and years. Most days I measure time in hours and even minutes. I can’t wait that long, and I’m not about to start letting bad things linger. So what can I really do?

I can control my own environment. I can block the wind. Stop the tension right in its tracks, at my doorstep. I can make my home a welcoming and relaxing place, for myself and others. I can make it a place where everyone feels like they belong.

While it’s something my husband and I have always aspired to do, I’m starting to figure out that now, for me, it means so many different things.

It means giving more than I receive.
It means getting rid of stuff.
It means less clutter.
It means taking care of the stuff I do have.
It means dreaming.
It means being mindful.
It means immersing myself in things I really enjoy.
It means moving on.
It means being present while I’m with my family any truly enjoying each other’s company so much that we forget about the rest of the world, if only for a second.
It means welcoming anybody, and I do mean anybody, who walks through my door with a smile.

It means taking care of each other.
That is, after all, what I’m here for, right?

It also means I’m going to going to jump on the hygge bandwagon. Google it if you don’t know what it is, but this explains it pretty well.

“Hygge is about being present enough to recognize and acknowledge an act, moment or feeling when the ordinary feels extraordinary.”

Sounds familiar doesn’t it?

Sharing the laughter and love.

2 thoughts on “Growing Pains

  1. Meg January 30, 2017 / 12:10 pm

    I love your approach to the present day issues and always – you always know how to make me feel happy. I’m in it with you, sister, in trying to make my corner of the world a happier, healthier, friendlier – and in my case – more outspoken place. Lots of love – and thanks for sharing.

  2. nikkigreen January 31, 2017 / 3:26 pm

    Glad to hear it, I look forward to hearing your more outspoken voice more often 🙂

Leave a Reply

