Snow Notes

Over the holiday I was catching up with a family member, making small talk. As we were exchanging pleasantries this person looked outside, made a face of pure exasperation and said “when is it going to stop snowing!?!” I followed his gaze, thought to myself how pretty the snowflakes looked, turned back to him and said “April.”

My dry sense of humor went utterly unappreciated at this particular moment.
I however, found myself rather clever and amusing.

I wasn’t trying to be sarcastic or spiteful, but I don’t have a lot of patience for people who complain about a little snow. There’s no time for coddling. If you wake up every day intent on complaining about your current situation, you are setting yourself up for failure. You’re choosing the short end of the stick.

I’m not claiming that I wake up every day of winter acting like a kid in a candy store. I actually really hate brushing snow off my car. Snow goes down my boots, up my sleeves, and into other places where it should never be (LBC). Then, just when I think I’ve succeeded at clearing the entire car of snow, I open my driver’s door only to have more snow mysteriously fall into the seat from god knows where. When the inches really start to pile up I change most of my outfit once arriving at work. Like Mr. Rogers. But this is the reality of where I live, and I love where I live, so I deal with it.

And I choose to embrace it.

Whenever I’ve begrudgingly gotten the snow brush out to clean off the car, I finish this task that I detest so much by drawing pictures into the snow on my husband’s car. It’s a reward. I’m left with a smile on my face as I drive to work (and hopefully have made him smile too) instead of the frown I might normally have due to the snow that is now melting into my sleeves and socks (etc.).

Come to think of it, my sisters and I used to leave footprint messages to each other while waiting for the bus on snowy mornings. When one (or two) of us reached the age of the early bus, we would leave a note for those taking the later run. From what I remember they mostly said “HI!”, because how much can you actually write in footprints. But we mixed it up sometimes. Good thing we don’t have brothers, things might have gotten a little out of hand.

So instead of setting myself up for failure, choosing to be grumpy about something I can’t change, I’m going to keep trudging through. Try writing a snow note to a friend, co-worker, or even for yourself if you have to. Or, if you’re feeling really nice, brush off someone’s car entirely. Try to make some sunshine for yourself and others until the actual sun makes its long-awaited return back to the northern hemisphere.


Note: I wrote this post in the first week of December (right after Thanksgiving), but it has taken me this long to collect enough pictures to accompany it. Up until recently it really hadn’t snowed much in Rochester, so life can’t be all that bad.

Leave a Reply

