Text Happy

I text myself things I want to remember.

Names of songs or bands, items to pick up at the grocery store, things I want to look up or show people. Little stuff. I use it instead of using the notes function on my phone. There’s something about the call and response that triggers my memory. When I use the notes I tend to forget to check the note that I made myself about the thing that I didn’t want to forget about.

Anyway. This is what I do, text my own phone. I type whatever it is, hit send, my thoughts move onto my next task, and I start to place my phone in its next transient home.

My text chime goes off before the phone even leaves my hand. The instantaneous instinctual reaction of the voice inside my head, is merriment.“Yeahhhh, someone texted me!”

It’s a naïve feeling of sheer joy that lasts approximately half a second until I stupidly realize that the text, of course, is from me. I get excited. Every. Single. Time.

I really crack myself up sometimes.



In this age of communication there are people who criticize our generation, and especially future generations, regarding the constant connection we have to each other via our phones, and how it has led to an increasingly superficial form of communicating; how it is actually threatening and deteriorating our ability to connect with each other on a personal level.

Blah, blah, blah. 

We’ve heard it, and we get it. We’re figuring it out as we go. The fact is that the world is at our fingertips and we’re going to continue to use it in any way that we can. And, as luck would have it, we have a say in what we use it for.

The ability to make someone smile today is literally resting in your hands right now. Text someone. Tell them about a band, song, movie, or restaurant you think they’ll like. Send them something funny that made you think of them, or just say hi. Little stuff.

You can make the voice inside their head go “yeahhhh, someone texted me!”

I know many people who already do this. And I will concede that I personally may be a little too text-happy. (I apologize to those of you who have to bear the brunt of my excessive randomness.) But I am therefore the happy recipient of many snippets of communication in return. I enjoy it. It is a highly entertaining way to live my life.

I get that it’s not for everyone, and there is something to be said about disconnecting from it all. But due to this ease of communication and the fact that we’re all equally aware of its existence, it doesn’t feel particularly great when someone doesn’t take the time out of their day, week, month, or year to simply say hi. Sending a text is not always superficial and it is not difficult or time-consuming. So it is disheartening when someone doesn’t take the time to do so.

All you can do is to just keep paying it forward. It will all come back around someday, I promise. And if it doesn’t, worst case scenario, you can always try texting yourself.

wpid-screenshot_2014-11-07-09-30-56_1.jpg

Leave a Reply

