Hunger Management

I have a confession. I’m a big fan of Combos, the snack food. Specifically pepperoni pizza cracker combos are my favorite but, in a pinch, any flavor will do. I realize they are the worst kind of junk food. Filled with mysterious ingredients that are terrible for me, and have no nutritional value whatsoever. But I just don’t care.

Last week, as I was blissfully enjoying what amounted to be almost an entire bag (yes, in one sitting), curiosity forced me to turn the bag over to read exactly what I was eating. This caught my eye instead.

combos

Hunger management snack? I love it. Not because it’s really all that comical or witty, but because it hits home. I frequently find myself in a position where I have to be someone else’s hunger manager and, let me tell you, it is not an easy job. It’s mostly a product of my surroundings, like my happiness, but I’d like to think that I’m good at it too. Professional hunger manager, I wish it was a marketable skill.  My new resume could read “experienced at preventing and negotiating dicey situations in which a normally even-tempered person or persons can rapidly become unpredictable, angry, and even hostile.” Hangry.

It’s a simple, self-explanatory, word. And I’ll admit that I’m the number one offender of overusing it. But it’s only because it makes me laugh. We all know it when we see it, and it can happen to anyone. Tom, if you’re reading this, I’m not purposely throwing you under the bus. Well maybe I am a little, but take comfort in the fact that it’s not just you. Apparently there are entire research studies dedicated to the subject. The National Science Foundation spent money on this.

For whatever reason, I find the entire concept extremely entertaining, so I dug a little deeper. Then I found THISwhich really made me laugh. And, as you know by now, I want you to laugh too so here I am, sharing.

Kudos to the Combos/Mars marketing team that wrote this little blurb on the back of the bag for a job well done. They made me smile. It is also a successful distraction tactic, because I never did get around to reading that ingredient list. But let’s face it, there will be a next time.

Leave a Reply

