Be Happy

wpid-wp-1407516001342.jpeg

This past October one of my nearest and dearest friends gave me a box of Be Happy Pop Open Cards for my birthday. They’re cute and fun, something we’ve all seen at various gift stores. I took them to work with me so that I could open them in the place where I most often need encouragement to “Be Happy”. There are 30 quote cards in the box so, being the miser that I am, I opened a card only when I truly needed it. And if I ended up opening one every day, that was fine too.

Outside of my professional life though, I find that there are very few moments when I need reminders to be happy. I have an incredible amount of happiness in my life. It has always been there, but throughout the past year or so I’ve been embracing it more and more. As life has been moving quickly (in some cases too quickly) around me, I’ve put forth the extra effort it takes to slow down and savor every happy moment. As a result, I’ve realized that almost all of my moments are happy.

That’s not to say I haven’t had bad days (or weeks, or months), those closest to me know that I’ve had my fair share, we all do. But at the end of each bad day, I’m still ok with it all.  It’s a shift in mindset, and I know with 100% certainty that it’s directly caused by the amazing people I have chosen to surround myself with. My family, and my family of friends.

You can choose your friends, but you can’t choose your family, or so they say. But in my life the line between family and friends is so blurred that it is almost non-existent. I have chosen to make my close family members into my friends, and my friends are absolutely and undeniably my family. Our mantra over this past year, has been to say “not everyone gets this life, not everyone gets to be this happy.” And while I do realize it is sometimes cheesy to say so, it is true. Not everybody does.

So this box of Be Happy cards that started it all, and the excess amount of happiness in my life, are my inspirations for starting this blog. A collection of thoughts, quotes, words, pictures, videos, links, and anything else I encounter throughout my day that makes me smile. I want, and need, to share my happiness with others. I hope that if you’re having a bad day (or week, or month) I can provide you with just one moment of pop-open happiness.  I’m also doing this for purely selfish reasons. Optimism does not come naturally to me. I’m a realist who knows that this phase will not last forever, and that tomorrow might be a really bad day. I will, at some point, need to reflect on these moments of happiness just to get myself out of bed in the morning.

In the end, the box of 30 Be Happy Cards helped me through about two and a half months of tough days at work. Moments that I needed reminders to focus on the big picture. I recently went back through the cards (to find one to send to all my snapchat friends of course), and I found one that had never been opened, it must have gotten lost in the mix. It may have been a sign from the universe or it may have just been an appropriately timed coincidence, I’ll never know. Either way I’ll leave you with that quote today.

“How simple it is to see that we can only be happy now and that there will never be a time when it is not now.” – Gerald G. Jampolsky

Leave a Reply

